🇫🇷 FR🇬🇧 EN
+33 1 42 35 61 28
1, chemin du Moulin Basset
93205 Saint-Denis
contact@lamaisondesfemmes.fr

The Women's Home

A center located in Saint-Denis, France, which welcomes all women who are vulnerable to or victims of violence.

Missions & Actions


Confronted with these disturbing figures, we wanted to create a concrete and pragmatic response. Inaugurated in June 2016, located at the entrance of the Centre Hospitalier Delafontaine, The Women's Home (La Maison des Femmes) welcomes all women who are vulnerable to or victims of violence. With direct and open access from the street, it remains a confidential and secure environment.

From contraception to abortion, to FGM care, to rape or other forms of physicial and mental abuse — within the family context or another — our teams offer the latest and most appropriate care. A wide network of partners and various associations allow us to guide the patients according to their needs while caring for their journey.

The team


Midwife coordinator: Mathilde Delespine

Head physician: Dr. Ghada Hatem


Family Planning Unit


Female Genital Mutilation (FGM) Unit


Abuse Unit

Every day professionals are available for consultations without appointments:


Support group: Inna MODJA, artist

Consultations for victims of abuse: Mathilde DELESPINE, midwife

Consultations for women victims of incest and sexual assaults: Estelle KRAMER, midwife

Pediatric consultations: Dr. Nuha SEMAAN

General information

If you need to consult about:

Consultations are held Mondays through Fridays between 9:00am and 5:00pm.

Click here to download the flyer that summarizes the services offered and practical information (French version only).


Family planning and abortion

The Center for Family Planning consists of a group of doctors, marriage counselors, nurses, assistant nurses, and social workers. Its mission is to address contraception issues, sexually transmitted infections, and abortions. It offers choices for different methods: surgical (general or local anesthesia) or through drugs. We also monitor contraception and screen for sexually transmitted infections.


Treatment Unit for women victims of domestic violence (including forced marriage)

This unit is composed of a specialized midwife, psychiatrist, social worker and medical examiner. It allows for general support that relies on the pace and opportunities of the woman to improve her situation. These professionals are present at different stages of the woman’s path out of abuse and towards healing. This work is supported by the legal jurisdiction of the CIDFF, provided by lawyers specialized for women victims. The unit also works closely with the association SOS Femmes 93, which welcomes women who have been victims of domestic violence.


Treatment Unit for women who have undergone FGM

Our unit treats women who have experienced FGM and has received the label “Centre Fleur du Désert.” As such, we are supported by the ‘Fondation Fleur du Désert and we work in collaboration with other European centers (Berlin, Amsterdam, Stockholm).

This unit is comprised of a psychologist, a sexologist, midwives, and surgeons trained directly by Doctor Pierre Foldès.

The treatment process explores the whole set of issues and proposes a clitoral reconstruction.

Our center has received support from the UNESCO Chair of ‘Sexual Health and Human Rights’ and from the GAMS.


Treatment Unit for women who are victims of rape and sexual assault

This unit is comprised of a specialized doctor, midwife, psychologist, social worker and medical examiner. It allows for general support that relies on the pace and opportunities of the woman to improve her situation. These professionals are present at different stages of the woman’s path out of abuse and towards healing. This unit works with ‘Collectif Féministe contre le viol’ which, for the last 40 years, supports women that have become victims of rape and sexual abuse.


Treatment Unit for women who are victims of incest

This unit is comprised of a specialized midwife and psychologist, a social worker and a medical examiner. It allows for general support that relies on the pace and opportunities of the woman to improve her situation. These professionals are present at different stages of the woman’s path out of abuse and towards healing. This unit works with the association AIVI which supports victims of incest since year 2000.


Counselling for pregnant women

The team at la Maison des Femmes works closely with pregnant women thus making the pregnancy period fully compatible with our offer to counselling.

Access by public transportation

Tramway
Line T1 — stop at Hôpital Delafontaine

Bus
Line  153  or  253  — stop at Marville

Subway
Line 7 — stop at La Courneuve then tramway T1 to stop at Hôpital Delafontaine.
Line 13 — stop at Basilique Saint-Denis then bus  153  or  253  to stop at Marville.

RER
Line D — stop at Saint-Denis then tramway T1 to stop at Hôpital Delafontaine.

By car

From the A1 highway, take Exit #3 (Pierrefitte, Beauvais).
Visitor parking is located at rue du Docteur Delafontaine.

Map

La Maison des femmes
1, chemin du Moulin Basset
93200 Saint-Denis
FRANCE

Phone

+33 1 42 35 61 28

Email

For any inquiry regarding our activities or if you wish to engage or partner with la Maison des Femmes, or if you are with the media, please write to contact@lamaisondesfemmes.fr.

If you are a victim of violence or have undergone FGM, and have questions about the services that we offer, please contact secretariat.mdf@ch-stdenis.fr.

Aware of the difficulties faced by women at different points in their lives, the medical and nursing team for maternity at the CHU Saint-Denis has created a place of welcome and guidance for all women victims of violence, of any kind whatsoever.


Context

Situations of distress are particularly frequent in the region of Seine Saint-Denis because of the extreme insecurity that affects migrant women, women with complicated administrative status, and women who have lost social and familial ties. Our Center for family planning, which is at the front line for welcoming patients, is not able to address specific issues around sexual violence and mutilation.. For the past two years, it has recorded an increase in the number of abortions by 21% and consultations by 50%. Additionally, there are 20-30 visits per day seeking various opinions and advice—a figure constantly on the rise. It became clear that a major project was crucial to develop.


A national priority

Our project is part of a national initiative, in perfect accordance with the commitments made by the Ministry of Women’s Rights, which ‘has made the fight against all violence targeting women a priority. This violence is part of a larger continuum that is deeply rooted in gender stereotypes and extends to sexual crimes and marital murders. In the face of violence, we are implementing a comprehensive response based on principles established at the interdepartmental committee on women’s rights of November 30, 2012. It has been implemented at the institutional level since 2012, both through law and text as well as concrete achievements.’


Project "The Women's Home"

The Women's Home is an individual structure that is ‘open to the street’ as much as it is open to the hospital allowing direct and discreet access. The geographic proximity and the technical links to the specialized care offered by the hospital are essential elements of the quality and relevance of this project. It is a unique place, serving as a link between the city and the hospital. It promotes synergies with existing structures, both clinical services and connections within the sector.


The care team worked with an architectural firm to develop an emblematic project, symbolizing the concept of a welcoming home, respectful of the well-being of the women and of the serenity of the caregivers. The plans that address all the needs are as follows: consulting and interview offices, welcome rooms, secretariat, meeting rooms for the support groups and a room dedicated to medical abortion. This project was co-financed by town halls in the region, le Conseil Régional, le Conseil Départemental, the deputy as well as various private donors (Kering, Elle, Raja, l’Oréal, Terres Plurielles, Vente-Privée, Pieces Jaunes, Ponticelli, Air France, Aéroport de Paris, Roche).


Structure of the center

The Women's Home is comprised of two branches — a ‘Family Planning’ branch and a ‘Care for vulnerable women’ branch. Most professionals working in this organization are at post and are financed by the hospital.

These two branches allow us to address all missions traditionally attributed to family planning:

Various specific consultations are available and planned: domestic violence, mutilation, rape, and incest… and will allow the integration of women into pathways of medical psycho-social care.

The presence of associations involved at the city level is under way, and the midwife coordinator already at post is the guarantor of coordination.


Perspectives

Inauguration of the Women's Home

‘La Maison’ opened its doors on July 11, 2016, and its financing is almost complete.

Our mid-term objective is to sustain the functioning of the organization by financing the professionals who are essential to the team and carry out all of our missions: psychologist, sexologist, social worker, dietician, midwife, etc. We also wish to support the work of the team through analysis of practices and support.

Our long-term goal is to ensure a concrete evaluation of the organization’s effectiveness in order to demonstrate its effectiveness and to guarantee its sustainability, to offer training to professionals throughout France, and to advocate among politicians.

G. Hatem et M. Delespine - July 2016


Media

50-50 Magazine • « Je sais désormais pourquoi je suis là »
VICE News • Un refuge pour femmes unique en son genre
ELLE • Réparer la souffrance des femmes: reportage à la Maison des Femmes à Saint-Denis
Le Parisien • Saint-Denis : Le docteur Hatem, ange gardien des femmes
France Musique • Ocora Couleurs du Monde
50-50 Magazine • Inna Modja : « Jamais je n’avais eu le rêve d’être réparée »
50-50 Magazine • Ghada Hatem : une gynécologue qui répare les femmes excisées
Revue de presse (jusqu'à août 2016)
Libération • La maison des femmes à l'écoute de toutes
Grazia • Une héroïne moderne
Cheek Magazine • Inna Modja, Marraine de la nouvelle Maison des femmes de Saint-Denis
France Bleu • Les premières patientes accueillies à la Maison des femmes de Saint-Denis (texte + audio)
Paris Match • Une maison pour les femmes victimes de violences à Saint-Denis
Le Point • Seine-Saint-Denis : l'héroïne des femmes brisées
Le Monde • Ce que vivent les femmes
ARTE • Interview du Dr. Ghada Hatem-Gantzer (vidéo)
ARTE • Bientôt une maison des femmes à Saint-Denis (vidéo)

01 42 35 61 28
1, chemin du Moulin Basset
93205 Saint-Denis
contact@lamaisondesfemmes.fr

La Maison des femmes

Une maison, à Saint-Denis, pour accueillir toutes les femmes vulnérables ou victimes de violence.

Missions & actions


Face à ces chiffres accablants, nous avons souhaité apporter une réponse concrète, pragmatique : inaugurée en juin 2016, à l'entrée du Centre Hospitalier Delafontaine, la Maison des femmes accueille toutes les femmes vulnérables ou victimes de violence. Ouverte directement sur la rue, elle offre un accueil confidentiel et sécurisé.

De la demande de contraception en passant par l'IVG, les soins autour d’une excision, d’un viol ou de violences physiques ou psychologiques, dans le cadre familial, conjugal ou autre, nos équipes offrent les soins les plus adaptés et les plus actuels. Un large réseau de partenaires et diverses permanences associatives nous permettent d'orienter les patientes en fonction de leurs besoins, tout en privilégiant la coordination de leurs parcours.

L'équipe


Sage-femme coordinatrice : Mathilde Delespine

Médecin-chef : Dr. Ghada Hatem


Unité Planning familial


Unité Mutilations Sexuelles Féminines (MSF)


Unité d'Accueil Violences

Tous les jours sans rendez-vous, des professionels sont disponibles :


Groupes de parole : Inna MODJA, artiste

Consultations femmes victimes de violence : Mathilde DELESPINE, sage-femme

Consultations femmes victimes d'incestes et d'agressions sexuelles : Estelle KRAMER, sage-femme

Consultations pédiatriques : Dr. Nuha SEMAAN

Informations pratiques

Vous avez besoin d'une consultation pour :

Les consultations ont lieu du lundi au vendredi, de 9h à 17h.

Cliquez ici pour télécharger le flyer récapitulant l'offre de services et les informations pratiques.


Planning familial et IVG

Le Centre de Planification Familiale comprend une équipe de médecins, conseillères conjugales, infirmières, aide-soignantes et assistantes sociales dont la mission est de prendre en charge les problématiques de contraception, d'infection sexuellement transmissible et les femmes en demande d’interruption volontaire de grossesse. Il offre le choix des différentes méthodes : chirurgicale (anesthésie générale ou locale) ou médicamenteuse. Il assure également le suivi de la contraception et le dépistage des infections sexuellement transmissibles.


Unité de soins pour les femmes victimes de violences conjugales et intrafamiliales (mariage forcé notamment)

L’unité est composée d’une sage-femme spécialisée, d’une psychologue spécialisée, d’une assistante sociale, d’un médecin légiste. Elle permet un accompagnement global en s’appuyant sur le rythme et les possibilités de la femme pour faire évoluer sa situation. Elle est présente aux différentes étapes de la femme dans son parcours de sortie des violences et de guérison. Elle appuie son travail sur la/les permanence(s) juridique(s) du CIDFF (lien hypertexte pour la page permanence) assurée(s) par des juristes spécialisés pour les femmes victimes. L’unité coopère également étroitement avec l’association SOS Femmes 93 (lien hypertexte pour la page permanence) qui permet un accueil collectif des femmes victimes de violences conjugales.


Unité de soins pour les femmes excisées

Notre unité de prise en charge des femmes excisées a reçu le label "Centre Fleur du Désert". À ce titre, nous sommes soutenus par la Fondation Fleur du Désert et travaillons en collaboration avec les autres centres européens (Berlin, Amsterdam, Stockholm).

L’unité de prise en charge des femmes excisée est composée d’une psychologue, d’un sexologue, de sages femmes et de chirurgiens formés directement par le Docteur Pierre Foldès.

Le parcours de soin explore l'ensemble des problématiques, et propose notamment une reconstruction clitoridienne.

Notre centre a reçu le soutien de la Chaire de l'UNESCO "Santé Sexuelle & Droits Humains" et du GAMS.


Unité de soins pour les femmes victimes de viols et d’agressions sexuelles

L’unité est composée d’un médecin et d’une sage-femme spécialisée, d’une psychologue spécialisée, d’une assistante sociale, d’un médecin légiste. Elle permet un accompagnement global en s’appuyant sur le rythme et les possibilités de la femme pour faire évoluer sa situation. Elle est présente aux différentes étapes de la femme dans son parcours de sortie des violences et de guérison. L’unité coopère avec le Collectif Féministe contre le viol qui accompagne les femmes victimes de viols et de violences sexuelles depuis 40 ans.


Unité de soins pour les femmes victimes d’incestes

L’unité est composée d’une sage-femme spécialisée, d’une psychologue spécialisée, d’une assistante sociale, d’un médecin légiste. Elle permet un accompagnement global en s’appuyant sur le rythme et les possibilités de la femme pour faire évoluer sa situation. Elle est présente aux différentes étapes de la femme dans son parcours de sortie des violences et de guérison. L’unité coopère avec l’association AIVI qui accompagne les personnes victimes d’incestes depuis 2000.


Accompagnement d’une femme enceinte

L’équipe de la maison des femmes travaille en coopération étroite avec la maternité. Ainsi la période de grossesse est tout à fait compatible avec l’accès à l’offre d’accompagnement de notre structure.

Accès par les transports en commun

Tramway
Ligne T1 — arrêt Hôpital Delafontaine

Bus
Ligne  153  ou  253  — arrêt Marville

Métro
Ligne 7 — descendre à l'arrêt La Courneuve puis prendre le tramway T1 jusqu'à l'arrêt Hôpital Delafontaine.
Ligne 13 — descendre à l'arrêt Basilique Saint-Denis puis prendre le bus  153  ou  253  jusqu'à l'arrêt Marville.

RER
Ligne D — descendre à l'arrêt Saint-Denis puis prendre le tramway T1 jusqu'à l'arrêt Hôpital Delafontaine.

Accès en voiture

Depuis l'autoroute A1, prendre la sortie n°3 (Pierrefitte, Beauvais).
Le parking visiteurs est situé rue du Docteur Delafontaine.

Plan

La Maison des femmes
1, chemin du Moulin Basset
93200 Saint-Denis
FRANCE

Téléphone

01 42 35 61 28

Email

contact@lamaisondesfemmes.fr

Sensibilisée aux difficultés que rencontrent les femmes à différents moments de leur vie, l’équipe médicale et soignante de la maternité du CHU de Saint-Denis a créé un lieu d’accueil et d’orientation pour toutes les femmes victimes de violences, quelle qu’en soit la nature.


Contexte

Les situations de détresse sont particulièrement fréquentes dans le département de Seine Saint-Denis en raison de la précarité extrême qui touche davantage les femmes migrantes, les femmes en situation administrative difficile, les femmes en rupture de liens sociaux et familiaux. Notre Centre de Planification Familiale, en première ligne pour accueillir ces patientes, n’est pas en mesure de répondre à la problématique plus spécifique des violences sexuelles et mutilations. Il enregistre depuis 2 ans une augmentation du nombre d’IVG de 21%, et des consultations de 50%. A cela s’ajoutent 20 à 30 passages impromptus par jour pour divers avis et conseils - chiffre en constante augmentation. Un projet d’envergure nous a semblé indispensable à élaborer.


Une priorité nationale

Notre projet s’inscrit dans une démarche nationale, en parfaite adéquation avec les engagements pris par le Ministère de Droits de la femme qui « a fait de la lutte contre toutes les violences faites aux femmes une priorité. Ces violences s’inscrivent dans un continuum, qui trouve sa source dans les stéréotypes de genre et qui se prolonge jusqu’aux crimes sexuels et aux meurtres conjugaux. Face aux violences, nous déployons une réponse globale dont les principes ont été arrêtés lors du comité interministériel aux droits des femmes du 30 novembre 2012 et qui se met en œuvre depuis 2012, au plan institutionnel, par des textes, mais aussi par des réalisations concrètes. »


Le projet Maison des femmes

Il s’agit d’une structure individualisée ouverte « sur la rue » autant que sur l’hôpital permettant un accès direct et discret. La proximité géographique et le lien technique rapide avec les soins spécialisés offerts par l’hôpital sont un élément essentiel de la qualité et de la pertinence de ce projet. Lieu unique, lien entre la ville et l’hôpital, il favorise les synergies avec les structures existantes tant les services cliniques que les associations du secteur.


L’équipe soignante a travaillé avec un cabinet d’architectes pour élaborer un projet emblématique, symbolisant le concept de maison chaleureuse, respectueuses du bien–être des femmes et de la sérénité des soignants. Les plans répondant à l’ensemble des besoins: bureaux de consultations et d’entretiens, locaux d’accueil, secrétariat, salle de réunion pour les groupes de paroles, local dédié aux IVG médicamenteuses. Ce projet a été co-financé par certaines mairies du territoire, le Conseil Régional, le Conseil Départemental, le député, ainsi que par différentes fondations privées (Kering, Elle, Raja, l’Oréal, Terres Plurielles, Vente-Privée, Pièces Jaunes, Ponticellli, Air France, Aéroport de Paris, Roche).


Organisation des prises en charge au sein de la structure

La Maison des femmes comprend 2 pôles, un pôle "Planning familial" et un pôle "Prise en charge des femmes vulnérables". Les professionnels intervenant dans la structure sont pour la plupart déjà en poste et financés par l’hôpital.

Ces 2 pôles permettent de répondre à l’ensemble des missions traditionnellement dévolues à un planning familial :

Différentes consultations spécifiques sont planifiées : violences conjugales, mutilations, viol et inceste… et permettront d’intégrer les femmes dans des parcours de prise en charge médico-psycho-sociales.

La présence d’associations déjà impliquées au niveau des villes est en cours d’organisation, et la sage-femme coordinatrice déjà en poste est le garant de la coordination des parcours.


Perspectives

Inauguration de la Maison des femmes

La Maison a ouvert ses portes le 11 juillet 2016, et son financement est pratiquement achevé.

Notre objectif à moyen terme est de pérenniser le fonctionnement de la structure, en finançant les professionnels indispensables pour compléter l’équipe et assurer l’ensemble de nos missions : psychologue, sexologue, assistante sociale, diététicienne, sage-femme d’accueil, etc. Nous souhaitons également accompagner le travail de l’équipe par des actions d’analyse de pratiques et de soutien.

Notre ambition à plus long terme est d’assurer une évaluation concrète de l’efficacité de cette structure afin d'en démontrer l'efficacité et d'en garantir la pérennité, de proposer des formations pour les professionnels de l'ensemble du territoire français et d'en faire un plaidoyer auprès des politiques.

G. Hatem et M. Delespine - Juillet 2016


Media

VICE News • Un refuge pour femmes unique en son genre
ELLE • Réparer la souffrance des femmes: reportage à la Maison des Femmes à Saint-Denis
Le Parisien • Saint-Denis : Le docteur Hatem, ange gardien des femmes
France Musique • Ocora Couleurs du Monde
Revue de presse (jusqu'à août 2016)
Libération • La maison des femmes à l'écoute de toutes
Grazia • Une héroïne moderne
Cheek Magazine • Inna Modja, Marraine de la nouvelle Maison des femmes de Saint-Denis
France Bleu • Les premières patientes accueillies à la Maison des femmes de Saint-Denis (texte + audio)
Paris Match • Une maison pour les femmes victimes de violences à Saint-Denis
Le Point • Seine-Saint-Denis : l'héroïne des femmes brisées
Le Monde • Ce que vivent les femmes
ARTE • Interview du Dr. Ghada Hatem-Gantzer (vidéo)
ARTE • Bientôt une maison des femmes à Saint-Denis (vidéo)